Call us on 0345 544 2528

Welcome to the Bassline Publishing Website!

The Mark King Bass Book

This book is a collection of Mark King's best known instrumental tracks as recorded with Level 42. The book also contains transcriptions of four of Mark's live bass solos, a biography, detailed style analysis and a bassography.

This is an updated 2015 edition of the book. The only changes have been to update the Bassography to reflect all of the instruments Mark has owned since the book was originally published, and some minor corrections to some of the music. The layout and presentation of the book has had a major overall making the music clearer and easier to read.

ISBN: 978-0-9926268-9-1
Number of Pages: 209

Availability: Out of stock

Customer Service

We will ship this product in 24 hours.

Product Description


The Mark King Bass Book features all of the best known instrumentals that Mark recorded with jazz/funk group Level 42 including ‘Sandstorm’, ‘Mr. Pink’, ‘43’, ‘Foundation & Empire’ and ‘The Pursuit of Accidents’. There are also transcriptions of four of Mark’s best-known live bass solos as well as a biography, an exhaustive bassography and an exclusive interview. All transcriptions have extensive performance notes.

The book contains the following songs:

  • Sandstorm
  • Theme To Margaret
  • Mr. Pink
  • 88
  • 43
  • Dune Tune
  • Foundation & Empire
  • The Pursuit of Accidents
  • The Return of the Handsome Rugged Man
  • The Essential
  • Bass Solo (from A Physical Presence)
  • Bass Solo (from Live at Wembley 1986)
  • Bass Solo (from Live at Town & Country Club)
  • Bass Solo (from Live at Reading 2001)

Product Tags

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Bonus Content

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here.